Contact us at 408.675.5020 or sales@identitymaestro.com

Home Page

Knowledge Base Search     Advanced

The Difference Between Saving Changes and Applying Settings

Article ID: 894
Last updated: 16 Aug, 2018

There is an important concept to understand when working in the ADMINISTRATION panel related to making changes in modules and advanced options, and having those changes appear in the Opertor panel.

What "Save" Does

There are many different form and page views in the ADMINISTRATION panel.  When you make a change, those changes are not held in memory if you switch views to a different page or view, or switch focus to a different field in the Form Builder.  If you do not Save, changes you make will be lost.  That can lead to some frustration, so get in the habit of clicking the Save button often.

Here is a classic example of working in the Form Builder.  If you switch focus from the Display Name field to the Username field, any changes you make in the details pane for the Display Name field will be lost as soon as you click to a different field.  Identity Maestro presumes that you do not want to save the change.  To preserve the change, click the Save button.

click the save button

Once the Save button is clicked, Identity Maestro writes those settings to the applicable CONFIG file for that module or form.

What "Preview Form" Does

The Form Builder includes a Preview Form button or link that will open a window to display the form so that you can see changes that you are making.  Autocomplete fields might not display in the preview mode.

As you work through changes to a form, use the Preview Form to see those changes.

What "Apply Settings" Does

Saving changes in a view or form does not immediately implement those changes to the Operator Panel. In most cases, administrators will want to complete a set of changes across multiple page views for a module or a form before applying those changes to the Operator panel.

That is what the Apply Settings menu option is for.  It tells the web server to load all modified CONFIG files into memory and implement those changes.  In some cases, the user will not see the change unless they logout and login again. In other cases, the changes will become available when they refresh the Operator panel page they are working in.

Test Your Changes

Once changes have been applied, you should use a test account to confirm that the form or option is working as expected before enabling that option to the users that will make use of that form or option.

As a best practise, keep detailed notes of your changes so you can test each change to ensure that it is working as expected.

This article was:   Helpful | Not helpful Report an issue


Article ID: 894
Last updated: 16 Aug, 2018
Revision: 20
Views: 119
Comments: 0
print  Print email  Email to friend share  Share pool  Add to pool comment  Add comment
Prev     Next
How to Enable Access to the Administration Panel       Admin Tasks: Common